I am an artist

aritst

For this research I chose to focus on the learning of my A level photography students in Years 12 and 13. I formulated my action research question as follows:

Stimulus: I’d like my A level photography students to be better able to generate their own
ideas and be more independent learners.
Hypotheisis: I suspect they haven’t yet made the leap from considering their work as belonging to school, in their role as students, rather than to themselves as artists.
Research: I’m interested in ideas like Mantle of the Expert, design thinking,
studio schools and ‘How to be an artist’ by Michael Atavar.

 

Consequently, my research question is:
If I encourage my Year 12 and 13 photography students to inhabit the role of
artist/photographer, with a practice of their own, will they become more
independent and resilient?

Jon Nicholls, Thomas Tallis School
Greenwich, London

Read the full report here:  ‘I am an artist’

One thought on “I am an artist

Leave a Reply

